Dietary Guides

Guide to Dietary Restrictions

Help prevent allergic reactions and illness by using good segregation practices for common allergens in the kitchen. Wash hands, utensils, and surfaces after handling common allergens.
Vegetarian
Vegetarians do not eat meat, but typically consume dairy products and eggs. Vegetarian items should NOT contain: beef, lamb, pork, poultry, fish or shellfish, chicken stock, gelatin, oyster sauce, or fish sauce.
Vegan
Vegans do NOT consume ANY animal products. Vegan items should NOT contain: beef, lamb, pork, poultry, fish or shellfish, chicken stock, oyster sauce, fish sauce, honey, eggs, dairy products, or gelatin.
Gluten
Gluten is a protein found in certain grains. It can be found in wheat, barley, rye, triticale, farro, farina, bulgur, durum our, graham flour, kamut, semolina, and spelt. Soy sauce usually contains gluten. People avoiding gluten may have celiac disease, a wheat allergy, or may be gluten-intolerant. Be aware of products that MAY contain gluten such as: soy sauce, oyster sauce, some pre-made marinades, oats/ granola, some sauces/condiments, some seasonings, some processed meats, imitation meat or seafood, premade soups or soup-bases. Oil used to fry breaded items should not be used to fry gluten-free items.
Nuts
Nut products include any items made with: peanuts, pine nuts, almonds, walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, cashews, pistachios, chestnuts, macadamias, and brazil nuts. People avoiding nut products typically have a treenut or peanut allergy, which could be very serious. Be aware of products that do or MAY contain nuts such as: processed breads, chocolate, processed cookies and baked goods.
Dairy
Dairy products are made with cow, goat, or sheep milk and include: milk, butter, ghee, cream, yogurt, and cheese. People avoiding dairy may have a milk protein allergy or may be lactose-intolerant. Be aware of products that MAY contain dairy such as: bread, baked goods, pastries, and chocolate.
Shellfish
Shellfish include both crustaceans and mollusks. Crustaceans are lobster, crab, shrimp, prawns, crawfish, and krill. Mollusks are oysters, clams, scallops, and mussels. People avoiding shellfish typically have a shellfish allergy, which could be very serious. Be aware of products that do or MAY contain shellfish such as: oyster sauce, fish sauce, surimi, or seafood flavoring.
Soy
People avoiding soy typically have a soy allergy which could be very serious. The following products MAY contain soy: tofu, tempeh, yuba, miso, natto, soy sauce, tamari, some pre-made marinades, some sauces/ condiments, soy lecithin, textured vegetable protein, vegetable broth, vegetable oil, chocolate, processed breads, and processed baked goods. Be aware of cooking oils.
Eggs
Egg products include any products made with whole eggs, egg whites (albumen), and egg yolks. People avoiding eggs typically have an allergy, which could be very serious. Be aware of products that do or MAY contain eggs such as: breads, pastries, frostings/ icings/ glazes, meringue, mayonnaise, aioli, commercially prepared mixes, pasta, custard, and some soup-bases.
If you are ever uncertain about whether or not you can accommodate a dietary restriction for a ZeroCater customer, please email or call us!

Guide to Dietary Buzzwords

Paleo
Describes foods made of ingredients that require minimal processing and therefore could be prepared and eaten by our Paleolithic ancestors. The paleo diet includes: heavy portions of meat, vegetables, fruit, nuts, and seeds. Paleo items should NOT contain: dairy, grains, or added sugar.
Pescatarian
A vegetarian diet that also allows fish but no other animal proteins.
Raw Food
A diet that involves the consumption of primarily raw vegetables, fruits, seeds, nuts, and grains that are not heated above 116 degrees to ensure the retention of healthy live enzymes.
Low-Glycemic
The avoidance of foods that contain high sugar and simple carbs, such as pasta, sweets, and white breads. This diet relies upon low-sugar foods and complex carbohydrates.
If you are ever uncertain about whether or not you can accommodate a dietary restriction for a ZeroCater customer, please email or call us!